Insurer reports for income protection and TPD claims: capacity against the policy, not the diagnosis

An insurer's claims assessor is not applying a statute; they are applying the words of a policy. For income protection the question is whether the person can perform the important duties of their own occupation now, and when they might; for total and permanent disablement it is whether they are unlikely ever to work again in an occupation suited to their education, training and experience. The report that helps is the one that asks for the definition and the duties list first, then answers against them, with dates that match the records.

By PsychDispatch · Last reviewed 3 September 2026 · Drafted in PsychDispatch by the Insurance - Income Protection Support preset

What these reports are for

Three insurance products generate requests to a treating psychiatrist, and they ask different questions.

Income protection pays a monthly benefit while the insured cannot work because of illness or injury. The claims assessor needs to know whether the person can perform the important duties of their own occupation now, what restrictions apply, what treatment is under way, and when a return is expected. The report is usually periodic, on the insurer's form, and the claim continues or stops on it.

Total and permanent disablement pays a lump sum, and the test is permanence: that the person is unlikely ever to work again, either in their own occupation or in any occupation suited to their education, training and experience, depending on the policy. Most TPD cover in Australia is held through superannuation and assessed under an any-occupation definition, by the insurer and then the fund's trustee.

Life and trauma policies rarely turn on a psychiatrist's opinion; where they touch psychiatry it is usually about history, disclosure at underwriting, or an exclusion. The psychiatrist's contribution is factual records rather than an opinion on capacity.

In every case the reader is a claims assessor, the test is the words of the policy rather than a statute, and the first thing to do is ask for those words: the definition of disability that applies, and the list of the insured's important duties as the insurer has recorded them. A report written against the wrong definition is a report written twice.

What it must contain

  1. The request and the policy. Who asked, the claim number, the definition of disability that applies (own occupation or any occupation, total or partial), and the duties list you were given. State these at the top so the assessor can see the report was written against the right test.
  2. Your standing. Treating psychiatrist since when, frequency, date last seen, documents reviewed.
  3. Diagnosis and onset. The condition, when it began, how it was diagnosed.
  4. The date the person ceased work, and why. Consistent with the records, with your account of the relationship between the condition and the cessation.
  5. Treatment history and adherence. What has been tried, for how long, with what result, and whether the person has followed it. For TPD this section carries the permanence argument.
  6. Current status. Symptoms and mental state now, with the date of examination.
  7. Capacity against the listed duties. For each important duty on the insurer's list: can perform, cannot perform, or can perform with a stated restriction, and why. This is the section the claim turns on; do not summarise it as "unfit for work".
  8. Prognosis. For income protection, the expected course and a realistic return-to-work horizon, with the steps (graded hours, restricted duties) and review dates. For TPD, the permanence statement: that the person is unlikely ever to return to work within the definition, with the treatment history that supports it.
  9. Non-medical factors, flagged as such. Where the barrier to return is partly the workplace, the labour market or a dispute, say so and separate it from the medical opinion.
  10. Consistency. Dates, diagnosis and capacity that match your earlier certificates and the clinical record. Where something has changed, say what and when.

Income protection: the periodic report

Ongoing claims are re-certified monthly or quarterly, and each certificate should lead with what changed since the last: treatment adjusted, response, capacity moved in either direction. Where the person can return to part of the role, say which duties and how many hours, so the insurer can assess a partial benefit rather than choosing between full benefit and none. Keep the date of disablement, the diagnosis and the duties list identical across certificates unless something genuinely changed, and if it did, say so in the certificate that first reflects it.

TPD: permanence, and "any occupation"

The TPD report is closer to the DSP and NDIS evidence in this library than to the income protection certificate, and shares their central hazard: a hedged prognosis defeats permanence. "Unlikely ever to work again" is the standard most policies use, and the report has to say whether, in your opinion, the person meets it, with the reasoning: the treatment exhausted, the course over time, and the functional picture. Under an any-occupation definition the reasoning must also address the person's education, training and experience and whether retraining is realistic, because the assessor will. Many policies require certificates from two medical practitioners, one usually a specialist; ask whether yours is one of them and what the other has said.

Where reports fall short

  • The report never states which definition of disability it was written against, or was written against the wrong one.
  • Capacity is "unfit for work" rather than an answer for each listed duty.
  • The date of disablement, or the diagnosis, differs from an earlier certificate without explanation.
  • The treatment history is thin, so a TPD permanence opinion has nothing to stand on.
  • The prognosis hedges in a TPD report, or gives no horizon in an income protection one.
  • Unrelated history is disclosed beyond the patient's authority, or relevant history is withheld and surfaces later.
  • Workplace and labour-market barriers are presented as medical incapacity.
  • The periodic certificate is late, and the benefit stops.

A skeleton that works

[Insurer], Claims. Attention [Assessor].
Re: [Insured], DOB [date]. Policy [number], claim [number].
Request and definition. This report responds to your request of [date]. I understand the applicable definition is [own occupation / any occupation; total / partial disability] and that the insured's important duties are: [list as supplied].
Treating clinician. I have treated [Insured] since [date], approximately every [interval], most recently on [date]. I have reviewed [documents].
Diagnosis and onset. [Condition, onset, basis of diagnosis.]
Cessation of work. [Insured] ceased work on [date] because [relationship to the condition].
Treatment. [History with dates, durations, outcomes; current treatment; adherence.]
Current status. On examination on [date]: [mental state and symptoms].
Capacity against duties.
- [Duty 1]: [can / cannot / can with restriction], because [reason].
- [Duty 2]: [...]
- [Duty 3]: [...]
Prognosis. [Income protection: expected course; return-to-work horizon; steps and review dates.] [TPD: In my opinion [Insured] is unlikely ever to return to work in [own occupation / any occupation suited to their education, training and experience], because [treatment exhausted; course; function; retraining].]
Other factors. [Non-medical barriers, identified as such, or none.]
[Name, qualifications, AHPRA registration number, provider number, date]

How PsychDispatch drafts these

The Insurance - Income Protection Support, Insurance - TPD Claim Support and Insurance - Life / Trauma Claim Support presets draft each report in the structure above, against the definition and duties you paste in from the insurer's request. Serial reports are where Patient Intelligence earns its place: each monthly certificate is drafted knowing what the last one said, so the date of disablement, the diagnosis and the duties stay consistent, and the "what changed" line is drawn from the record of consultations in between. Every claim is verified against the source before you sign, and the report goes out on your letterhead.

FAQ

Questions about this letter.

Do I have to answer everything on the insurer's form?

You answer what is relevant to the claim and within the authority the patient signed. The Life Insurance Code of Practice commits insurers to requesting only information relevant to the claim, and a question that reaches into unrelated history can be declined with a sentence saying so. What you do answer, answer fully and consistently with the records.

What is the difference between "own occupation" and "any occupation"?

An own-occupation definition asks whether the person can perform the important duties of the job they were doing. An any-occupation definition asks whether they can work in any job reasonably suited to their education, training and experience, which is a much harder test to meet. Policies differ, and superannuation-held TPD cover is usually any-occupation. Ask the insurer which definition applies before you write; the report has to address that one.

What is the date of disablement, and why do insurers care?

It is the date from which the person is taken to have become disabled under the policy, usually the date they ceased work because of the condition, and it fixes the waiting period, the benefit start and, for TPD, the point at which the definition is assessed. It must be consistent with your records and with earlier certificates. A date that moves between reports is the commonest reason a claim stalls.

Can my patient see the report before it goes?

Usually, and often they should. Many insurers ask the insured to obtain the report; where the insurer asks you directly, the patient can request a copy. Discussing the content with the patient is appropriate; changing a clinical opinion because of that discussion is not.

Who pays for the report?

Generally the insurer that requested it, at a fee they set or agree in advance, and the fee often depends on whether it is a short periodic certificate or a full report. Confirm the request, the report type and the fee before writing.

Does the insurer have to accept my report?

No. Your report is treating-doctor evidence; the insurer may also arrange an independent medical examination and weigh both. A report that is specific, dated, consistent with the records and tied to the policy definition is the one that carries weight against an independent opinion. Disputes go to the Australian Financial Complaints Authority.

In PsychDispatch

Drafted from the consult by the Insurance - Income Protection Support preset.

In your own letter style, every claim verified against the transcript, rendered onto your letterhead and dispatched by secure link in one click, with the patient’s full history behind it. Every one of the PsychDispatch letter types works the same way.